INDIANAPOLIS – Pastrana Waltrip Racing announced Friday it will withdraw the No. 99 Boost Mobile Toyota from Saturday’s race at Lucas Oil Raceway where action sports star Travis Pastrana planned to make his NASCAR Nationwide Series debut.

Pastrana broke his right foot and ankle after back-to-back crashes during the Moto X Best Trick competition at the X Games in Los Angeles Thursday.
Continue reading “Travis Pastrana X Games / NASCAR Weekend Ends with broken bones”

By Tripp Mickle
Special to the Sporting News NASCAR Wire Service

(July 26, 2011)

Early last week, Travis Pastrana popped into a Subway near his home in Maryland for lunch. While waiting to order, he noticed a man nudge a boy wearing an oversized, flat-billed hat standing in line behind him.

“Hey, man,” the 9-year-old boy said to Pastrana. “I watch ‘Nitro Circus,’ and I can’t wait to see you start NASCAR.”

Pastrana’s eyes widened. He’d never heard anyone mention “Nitro Circus,” his daredevil reality show on MTV, and NASCAR in the same sentence.
Continue reading “Travis Pastrana Doing Different Double, X Games, NASCAR”

SHOW #167 – We recap the Cup Series off weekend, Nashville race recaps, and preview one of the biggest races of the year. Hitting you upside the head with Brickyard stats! Hosted by Kerry Murphey and Paul Northrop
(About 40 mins)




Continue reading “The Final Lap #167 – Indianapolis Motor Speedway”

MASSIVE Indianapolis Motor Speedway, BONANZA!
• Indianapolis Motor Speedway has existed since 1909, and is the original “Speedway,” the first racing facility to incorporate the word in its name.
• With a permanent seating capacity for more than 250,000-plus people and infield seating that raises capacity to an approximate 400,000, it is the largest and highest-capacity sporting facility in history.
• There have been 17 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series races at Indianapolis Motor Speedway since the first race, in 1994.
• Four drivers have competed in all 17 races: Jeff Burton, Jeff Gordon, Bobby Labonte and Mark Martin.
• Rick Mast won the first pole, in 1994.
• Jeff Gordon won the 1994 inaugural race.
• There have been 14 different pole winners.

Continue reading “Indianapolis Motor Speedway Stats Pack”

Kasey Kahne like many drivers refuse to actually rest on a Cup Series off weekend, instead they do what they do best, go racing. Instead of dominating and winning, which is often the case when a top level driver visits a local short track, Kasey took his car airborne flipping over the catch fence and ending up outside the speedway. Fortunately for Kasey, his fans, and NASCAR, he walked away unharmed.