Here is a full breakdown of all of the NASCAR television programming that will be available on Thursday. Thanks to John Morris (@JMorrisTV on Twitter) for helping compile this list!


Time Event Channel
7:00 PM Burnouts on Broadway NBCSN
8:00 PM Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series Awards NBCSN

Before drivers conducted their burnouts in Nashville on Wednesday, NASCAR handed out their annual industry awards during a reception. These awards are handed out to drivers, teams or sponsors in the industry that excelled in certain areas throughout the 2019 NASCAR season.

Here is the full list of Award Winners for 2019:

  • Mechanix Most Valuable Pit Crew: Joe Gibbs Racing’s No. 18 team (Kyle Busch)
  • MOOG Problem Solver of the Year: Chris Gabehart, Joe Gibbs Racing’s No. 11 Crew Chief (Denny Hamlin)
  • Buddy Shuman Award: Dennis McGlynn
  • American Ethanol Green Flag Restart Award: Martin Truex Jr.
  • Marketing Achievement Award: Busch Beer
  • Busch Pole Award: Kevin Harvick
  • Sunoco Rookie of the Year: Daniel Hemric
  • Sunoco Diamond Performance Award: Kyle Busch
  • Goodyear Gold Car Award: Kyle Busch
  • Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series Champion Sponsor Award: Mars Inc.
  • Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series Champion Crew Chief Award: Adam Stevens (Kyle Busch)

The Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series NMPA Most Popular Driver Award and the Betty Jane France Humanitarian Award will be announced at Thursday night’s NASCAR Awards Banquet.

When the news dropped that Quin Houff would be replacing Landon Cassill in StarCom Racing’s No. 00 NASCAR Cup Series ride for 2020, it left quite a few people bummed for what the future held for Cassill.

The 30-year old driver has toiled away in sub-par equipment his entire career, despite being considered a diamond in the rough. But now, it looked like he could go without a ride at all in 2020. However, a new report from’s Dustin Albino suggests that Cassill could go full-time NASCAR Xfinity Series racing for Morgan Shepherd’s No. 89 team — if enough sponsorship funding is found, of course.

“That’s what we’re trying to do,” Cassill says in the Frontstretch report. “Ultimately, he’s got a lot of sponsorship stuff that he’s working on. There’s a lot of things that have to come together.

“I’ve told Morgan, ‘Look, if you can find sponsorship and if you can put together a full season, I definitely want to try and help you however I can.’ If I’m clear to be able to drive the car, I’ll do it. Or if I can be a part of the program, however it is, I’ll do it.”

How cool would this be?

Cassill performed incredibly well in Shepherd’s dated six-or-more year old Chevrolet Camaro in 2019.

In 10 starts for Shepherd’s organization last season, Cassill averaged a starting position of 17.1, which includes an eye-opening ninth place starting spot at Las Vegas in the fall.

In the one race that Cassill was able to run to the distance — Homestead — he came home 15th in the No. 89 car.

To read the full report from Frontstretch, which includes more quotes from Cassill and Shepherd, click here.

There is a bit of a shake up atop the NASCAR Cup Series pit boxes for Stewart-Haas Racing in 2020.

After a year, which saw only one of their cars — Kevin Harvick’s No. 4 Ford Mustang — win a race, the organization has decided to make some moves at the crew chief position.

“Our biggest asset at Stewart-Haas Racing is our people, and we strive to put each person in the best position to succeed,” said Greg Zipadelli, Vice President of Competition, SHR. “Our driver/crew chief pairings for next season reflect this ideology, and we believe this lineup provides the best opportunity to win every time we unload our Ford Mustangs at the racetrack.”

According to a team press release, Mike Shiplett will move up from the NASCAR Xfinity Series with Cole Custer to be the crew chief on the No. 41 machine. This is a solid move, which keeps the two locked together for Custer’s rookie campaign.

While Shiplett is the new crew chief face on the team for 2020, Mike Bugarewicz and John Klausmeier will swap the cars that they work on. Bugarewicz, who served as Clint Bowyer’s crew chief on the No. 14 car a season ago and has been the crew chief of the No. 14 team since 2016, will now move to Aric Almirola’s No. 10 car.

Klausmeier will be Bowyer’s crew chief this season.

The only crew chief position that will not change at all is that of Harvick’s No. 4 team. Rodney Childers will stay atop the pit box for that team after a four-win season and another Championship 4 berth.

This means Billy Scott, who was the crew chief for Daniel Suarez in the No. 41 car a season ago, will not return to the SHR Cup Series organization as a crew chief in 2020.

#596 Guest: Chase Briscoe – We also feature a Jimmie Johnson MEGA BONANZA!, Toby has breaking news that forces NASCAR to penalize folks, and tons of fun. Hosted by Kerry “Thankful Jimmie has 1 more year” Murphey and Toby “Mr. Breaking News” Christie Happy Thanksgiving, Black Friday and off season weekend!

Continue reading “TFLW NASCAR Podcast: #596 Chase Briscoe / Jimmie Johnson Bonanza”