By: Toby Christie, Editor – Follow on twitter @Toby_Christie

FORT WORTH, Texas — NASCAR has reduced downforce on the race cars in recent years, and Texas Motor Speedway knocked the banking down on one set of the turns at their 1.5-mile speedway, so you would expect naturally that cars would be pacing around at a slower clip. However, in Friday’s qualifying session for Sunday’s AAA Texas 500, five drivers eclipsed the 200-mile-per-hour barrier and shattering the old track qualifying record.

While the speed chart is exciting for fans, some drivers left the session a little shook by the incredible speeds that they were running in the session.
Continue reading “Hamlin, Other Drivers Uncomfortable With High Texas Qualifying Speeds”

By: Toby Christie, Editor – Follow on twitter @Toby_Christie

FORT WORTH, Texas — Kurt Busch rocketed to the pole for Sunday’s AAA Texas 500 at Texas Motor Speedway with a lap that broke a track record and was just shy of a 201 mile-per-hour average.

Busch, 39, was excited to come out on top on an exhilarating day where top speeds were enough to make mortals tinkle in their pants, but interestingly in his post-qualifying press conference, Busch seemed to have one thing on his mind — his pending contract negotiation with his current team Stewart-Haas Racing.
Continue reading “Kurt Busch Wins Texas Pole, But Contract Negotiations on His Mind”

By: Toby Christie, Editor – Follow on twitter @toby_christie

FORT WORTH, Texas — It’s been a whirlwind week for Chase Elliott.

Last Sunday, it looked like the 21-year-old driver would capture his first win, as he was leading with a few laps to go at Martinsville Speedway. Then, Elliott was spun out of the lead and into the wall after a super aggressive move by Denny Hamlin.

While the crowd cheered in support of Elliott and rained boos down on Hamlin, Elliott took the high road and refused to say anything negative about his competitor.

Friday in his media availability Elliott continued to keep his head down when questions of retaliation were raised.
Continue reading “Elliott Refuses to Talk Hamlin Payback, But Likes His Chances at Texas”

1. 18-Kyle Busch – 69.490 sec. – 126.925mph
2. 42-Kyle Larson – 69.862 sec. – 126.249mph
3. 78-Martin Truex Jr. – 70.132 sec. – 125.763mph
4. 24-Chase Elliott – 70.232 sec. – 125.584mph
5. 19-Daniel Suarez – 70.305 sec. – 125.453mph Continue reading “On the pole for the 2017 Monster Energy NASCAR Watkins Glen Race Kyle Busch – Starting Lineup”