By: Toby Christie – @Toby_Christie
In the interest of being honest, I have to admit that when NASCAR announced during the offseason that if a race winning car failed post-race inspection at a high enough level that they would tag the victory as an “encumbered” win, I was a fan of the move. An encumbered win would result in point penalties, but more importantly the win would not count toward the driver’s total of ever important playoff points.
It felt like finally something was going to be happening to teams that decided to bring a tricked up car to the track to tack on more wins.
However, after seeing the process unfold a couple of times so far in 2017, I can’t help but feel like like I was naive for my initial thoughts on the new rule. In fact now I feel the rule is a load of crock.
Continue reading “Opinion: Can We Just Start Stripping Encumbered Race Wins?”