Start Times Revealed for 2019 Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series Schedule

LAS VEGAS, NV – SEPTEMBER 16: Erik Jones, driver of the #20 DeWalt Toyota, takes the green flag to start the Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series SouthPoint 400 at Las Vegas Motor Speedway on September 16, 2018 in Las Vegas, Nevada. (Photo by Jonathan Ferrey/Getty Images)

By Toby Christie (Follow on Twitter @Toby_Christie)

On Tuesday, NASCAR officially unveiled the start times, television channels and radio channels for the upcoming 2019 Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series season. Later start times highlight the changes, as no race all season will begin before 2:00 PM ET.

16 of the 36 points paying races will be available on regular network television (FOX or NBC), while 20 of them will be available on cable affiliates (FS1 or NBCSN).

Those totals mean one less race will be on regular network television this year than in 2018.

Additionally, The Clash was the only race that started after 3PM ET on a Sunday on a non-holiday weekend. Eight more Sunday races will run in the 3PM ET or later slot during Sundays on non-holiday weekends in 2019.

In total, 11 races will start at a later time than they did a year ago. Only Kansas in May will start earlier than it did a year ago.

Here is the complete schedule of races with start times, television networks and radio networks:

Date Race Time (ET) TV Radio
Sunday, Feb 10, 2019 Daytona 500 qualifying 12:00 PM FOX MRN
Sunday, Feb 10, 2019 The Clash 3:00 PM FS1 MRN
Thursday, Feb 13, 2019 Duels at Daytona 7:00 PM FS1 MRN
Sunday, Feb 17, 2019 Daytona 500 2:30 PM FOX MRN
Sunday, Feb 24, 2019 Atlanta 2:00 PM FOX PRN
Sunday, Mar 03, 2019 Las Vegas 3:30 PM FOX PRN
Sunday, Mar 10, 2019 ISM Raceway 3:30 PM FOX MRN
Sunday, Mar 17, 2019 Auto Club Speedway 3:30 PM FOX MRN
Sunday, Mar 24, 2019 Martinsville 2:00 PM FS1 MRN
Sunday, Mar 31, 2019 Texas 3:00 PM FOX PRN
Sunday, Apr 07, 2019 Bristol 2:00 PM FS1 PRN
Saturday, Apr 13, 2019 Richmond 7:30 PM FOX MRN
Sunday, Apr 28, 2019 Talladega 2:00 PM FOX MRN
Sunday, May 05, 2019 Dover 2:00 PM FS1 MRN
Saturday, May 11, 2019 Kansas 7:30 PM FS1 MRN
Saturday, May 18, 2019 All-Star Open 6:00 PM FS1 MRN
Saturday, May 18, 2019 All-Star Race 8:00 PM FS1 MRN
Sunday, May 26, 2019 Charlotte 6:00 PM FOX PRN
Sunday, Jun 02, 2019 Pocono 2:00 PM FS1 MRN
Sunday, Jun 09, 2019 Michigan 2:00 PM FS1 MRN
Sunday, Jun 23, 2019 Sonoma 3:00 PM FS1 PRN
Sunday, Jun 30, 2019 Chicagoland 3:00 PM NBCSN MRN
Saturday, Jul 06, 2019 Daytona 7:30 PM NBC MRN
Saturday, Jul 13, 2019 Kentucky 7:30 PM NBCSN PRN
Sunday, Jul 21, 2019 New Hampshire 3:00 PM NBCSN PRN
Sunday, Jul 28, 2019 Pocono 3:00 PM NBCSN MRN
Sunday, Aug 04, 2019 Watkins Glen 3:00 PM NBCSN MRN
Sunday, Aug 11, 2019 Michigan 3:00 PM NBCSN MRN
Saturday, Aug 17, 2019 Bristol 7:30 PM NBCSN PRN
Sunday, Sep 01, 2019 Darlington 6:00 PM NBCSN MRN
Sunday, Sep 08, 2019 Indianapolis 2:00 PM NBC IMS
Sunday, Sep 15, 2019 Las Vegas 7:00 PM NBCSN PRN
Saturday, Sep 21, 2019 Richmond 7:30 PM NBCSN MRN
Sunday, Sep 28, 2019 Roval 2:30 PM NBC PRN
Sunday, Oct 06, 2019 Dover 2:30 PM NBCSN MRN
Sunday, Oct 13, 2019 Talladega 2:00 PM NBC MRN
Sunday, Oct 20, 2019 Kansas 2:30 PM NBC MRN
Sunday, Oct 27, 2019 Martinsville 3:00 PM NBCSN MRN
Sunday, Nov 03, 2019 Texas 3:00 PM NBCSN PRN
Sunday, Nov 10, 2019 ISM Raceway 2:30 PM NBC MRN
Sunday, Nov 17, 2019 Homestead Miami 3:00 PM NBC MRN
Advertisements

Rodney Childers Opens up on Spoiler Infraction on Twitter

By Toby Christie, Editor — Follow on Twitter @Toby_Christie

We have heard a lot about the illegal spoiler that was on Stewart-Haas Racing’s race-winning No. 4 Ford Fusion in last week’s AAA Texas 500 at Texas Motor Speedway. NASCAR’s Scott Miller has weighed in on it, everyone has formed an opinion about it one way or the other, but one thing we haven’t gotten is the crew chief’s thoughts.

Friday, while serving the first of his two week suspension from the race track, Rodney Childers sought to squash the endless speculation and opinions about the infraction as he opened up about the spoiler that spoiled the end of his season. Continue reading “Rodney Childers Opens up on Spoiler Infraction on Twitter”

Harvick Penalty Fall-Out: Who is the New Favorite to Win Championship?

By Toby Christie, Editor — Follow on Twitter @Toby_Christie

Man, I hate the final stretch of the NASCAR season. There doesn’t ever seem to be any big stories that break this time of year — oh, wait. That’s right. Kevin Harvick and his team were busted with one of the biggest most egregious examples of cheating we have seen in some time in the Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series.

After utterly dominating the field by winning all three stages of the AAA Texas 500 and leading 177 of the 337 laps on the day in Texas, Harvick’s car was found to have an illegal spoiler at the NASCAR R&D Center during post-race tear down. But the crazy thing wasn’t just that Harvick’s spoiler was illegal, it was that crew chief Rodney Childers and the No. 4 team attempted to completely circumvent the NASCAR rule book. Continue reading “Harvick Penalty Fall-Out: Who is the New Favorite to Win Championship?”

Schloemer Zone: The Kevin Harvick Scandal From a Fan’s Perspective

By Robert Schloemer, NASCAR Fan Contributer – Follow on Twitter @SchloemerZ

*Editor’s note: The Schloemer Zone is a place for NASCAR fans to hear the ranting and raving of a true NASCAR fan — Robert Schloemer. Schloemer is not a trained journalist, and has no skin in the game financially, he is just a huge NASCAR fan and has agreed to bring his thoughts and opinions in a periodic column on The Final Lap.

Kevin Harvick absolutely dominated the Texas race. There is no denying that. Harvick has been the class of the field this season winning eight races and should have probably won more (Kansas, Talladega, Dover just off the top of my head, but was cursed with pit road issues and bad luck). Winning both stages and the checkered flag, Harvick looked to be returning to his dominating ways with no pit road issues in the AAA Texas 500. Continue reading “Schloemer Zone: The Kevin Harvick Scandal From a Fan’s Perspective”

Martin Truex Jr. and Cole Pearn to Joe Gibbs Racing No. 19 Team in 2019

By Toby Christie, Editor — Follow on Twitter @Toby_Christie

We all knew it was happening, we just had no idea when it would officially be announced. Wednesday, Joe Gibbs Racing ended the worst kept secret of this year’s silly season by announcing in a press release that Martin Truex Jr. and his crew chief Cole Pearn will be joining the organization next season. Continue reading “Martin Truex Jr. and Cole Pearn to Joe Gibbs Racing No. 19 Team in 2019”