dis_su_hamlin_vl_2_021316Feb. 13, 2016

By Reid Spencer
NASCAR Wire Service

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. – Saturday’s Sprint Unlimited at Daytona International Speedway ended with a mere handful of cars undamaged—and race winner Denny Hamlin’s Toyota wasn’t one of them.

But Hamlin got his wreck out of the way early in a two-car incident with Ricky Stenhouse Jr.’s Ford on Lap 13 and won the race in overtime with a large swatch of silver tape on the right side of his No. 11 Joe Gibbs Racing Camry.
Continue reading “Denny Hamlin wins action-packed Sprint Unlimited at Daytona”

during practice for the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Sprint Unlimited at Daytona International Speedway on February 12, 2016 in Daytona Beach, Florida.

1 48 Jimmie Johnson Lowe’s Chevrolet
2 2 Brad Keselowski SKF Ford
3 47 AJ Allmendinger Kroger/Stouffer’s/Lean Cuisine Chevrolet
4 42 Kyle Larson Target Chevrolet
5 31 Ryan Newman Caterpillar Chevrolet Continue reading “Starting Line Up by Row Daytona International Speedway NASCAR Sprint Unlimited”

Eligible Drivers and Format Announced for 2016 Sprint Unlimited at Daytona
Event Marks First NASCAR Race in New Daytona International Speedway Stadium

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. (January 11, 2016) – NASCAR announced today the 25 eligible drivers and the format for the season-opening 75-lap Sprint Unlimited at the new Daytona International Speedway motorsports stadium on Saturday, Feb. 13.

The event, which will be broadcast live on FOX, Motor Racing Network and SiriusXM NASCAR Radio, marks the first NASCAR Sprint Cup Series race following the completion of DAYTONA Rising, the $400 million frontstretch redevelopment project that has transformed Daytona International Speedway into the first motorsports stadium in the world.

“We’re ready to go,” said NASCAR Executive Vice President and Chief Racing Development Officer Steve O’Donnell. “The anticipation for this season, this event and this venue is unprecedented. We are excited how the new stadium will provide a state-of-the-art showcase for the brightest stars of the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series.”

Once again, the non-points event will be split into two segments with a competition caution at lap 25 separating the segments. A popular element introduced before the 2015 event returns this year: select fans will be paired with each crew chief for a random drawing to determine starting and pit road positions. The drawings will take place on Friday, Feb. 12 at the Alert Today Florida Stage inside the Sprint FANZONE beginning at 3:30 p.m.

The 25 eligible NASCAR Sprint Cup Series drivers include the 2015 Coors Light Pole Award winners, former Sprint Unlimited race winners and former Daytona 500 pole winners who competed full time in 2015. All 16 drivers from the 2015 Chase for the NASCAR Sprint Cup are also eligible for the race, and any remaining open positions are filled based on 2015 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series championship driver points.

Eligible drivers are:

2015 Coors Light Pole Awards winners
· AJ Allmendinger, Kurt Busch, Kyle Busch, Carl Edwards, Denny Hamlin, Kevin Harvick, Jimmie Johnson, Kasey Kahne, Matt Kenseth, Brad Keselowski, Jeff Gordon, Joey Logano

Former Sprint Unlimited Race Winners
· Dale Earnhardt Jr., Tony Stewart

Former DAYTONA 500 Coors Light Pole Award winners
· Greg Biffle, Austin Dillon, David Gilliland, Danica Patrick, Martin Truex Jr.

2015 Chase for the NASCAR Sprint Cup drivers:
· Clint Bowyer, Jamie McMurray, Paul Menard, Ryan Newman

2015 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series championship driver points:
· Aric Almirola, Kyle Larson.

If an eligible driver does not enter the race, the open position will be filled based on 2015 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series championship driver points. The first five provisional drivers are Casey Mears, Ricky Stenhouse Jr., Sam Hornish Jr., David Ragan and Trevor Bayne.

The Final Lap Weekly Podcast LogoSHOW #346 – Guests: We hear from the front row for the Daytona 500, Jeff Gordon and Jimmie Johnson, recap the Sprint Unlimited, Daytona 500 qualfying, Kahne goes flying, Jet Dryers to the rescue, plus a full Daytona 500 Preview. Hosted by Kerry Murphey and Toby Christie.

( Roughly 48:00 mins)

Continue reading “The Final Lap Weekly #NASCAR Radio Podcast #346 – Jeff Gordon / Jimmie Johnson – The 2015 Daytona 500”