Penske Racing One Solid Finish Away From First Sprint Cup Championship

Roger Penske has fielded NASCAR Sprint Cup entries – 1,571 of them – since June 18, 1972, when Donnie Allison finished third at Riverside (Calif.) International Raceway behind Ray Elder and Benny Parsons. Penske Racing cars have won 76 times over 29 seasons but never a NASCAR Sprint Cup championship. NASCAR Hall of Fame inductee Rusty Wallace came closest finishing second in 1993. NASCAR Hall of Famer Bobby Allison was fourth in 1974 and 1976 as was Kurt Busch in 2009. Brad Keselowski, the current Chase for the NASCAR Sprint Cup™ leader, was fifth a year ago. Keselowski’s 2010 NASCAR Nationwide Series championship is Penske’s only NASCAR title.