Jimmie Johnson Punches 10th Chase Ticket; Earliest Clinch Since 2007

jimmie-johnson-martinsville-nascar-april-2013Jimmie Johnson is the first competitor to qualify for the 2013 Chase for the NASCAR Sprint Cup. The five-time Sprint Cup champion is the only driver to have qualified for all 10 editions of NASCAR’s post season, and the earliest to clinch a Chase spot since Jeff Gordon also clinched at Watkins Glen in 2007. Now Johnson has a surprisingly daunting task ahead of him: Solve the riddle that is Michigan International Speedway. Michigan is one of five active tracks at which Johnson has not won. The others are all tracks that the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series visits once per season: Chicagoland, Watkins Glen, Kentucky and Homestead.