Three Two Time Cup Series Winners, Preferred Status

There are three two-time winners in the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series thus far this year – Johnson, Kevin Harvick and Joey Logano. This is certainly what could be called “preferred status” as all three have almost certainly clinched spots in the 16-driver Chase for the NASCAR Sprint Cup, NASCAR’s ‘playoffs” that are contested over the final 10 races of the season.

Those three still must fulfill two more requirements, however, to make the Chase. They must finish the first 26 races of the season in the top 30 of the series points. Sixteen spots are available for the Chase, with race winners getting first dibs, provided they fulfill all the qualification requirements. If there are less than 16 different winners, remaining berths will be based on the series standings after the first 26 races.