NASCAR Drivers Under Pressure, 2 Races Remain Until Playoffs

2 To Go: Pressure Mounting For Winless Drivers To Make Playoffs
Only two races remain for winless drivers to clinch berths in the Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series Playoffs.

The penultimate opportunity for drivers to earn an automatic postseason bid is Sunday’s Bojangles’ Southern 500 at Darlington Raceway (6 p.m. ET on NBCSN, MRN and SiriusXM NASCAR Radio).

Of the winless drivers, only Matt Kenseth (2013) has won at Darlington. Kenseth (2015), Dale Eanhardt Jr. (2000, 2004, 2006) and Clint Bowyer (2008, 2012) have all visited Victory Lane at Richmond – the host of the final regular season race. Joey Logano, who is currently out of the playoffs because his April Richmond win was encumbered, also took the checkered flag there in 2014.

Here’s how the Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series playoff grid shakes out now: Martin Truex Jr. (four wins, 35 playoff points), Kyle Busch (2, 20), Kyle Larson (3, 18), Jimmie Johnson (3, 16), Brad Keselowski (2, 14), Ricky Stenhouse Jr. (2, 10), Kevin Harvick (1, 8), Ryan Blaney (1, 8), Denny Hamlin (1, 7), Kurt Busch (1, 5), Ryan Newman (1, 5), Kasey Kahne (1, 5), Austin Dillon (1, 5), Chase Elliott (69 points ahead of Clint Bowyer on the cutoff line, 2 playoff points), Matt Kenseth (+61, 3), Jamie McMurray (+58, 0).