Michgan: NASCAR Manufacturers Battle from Motor City

The Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series’ twice annual Michigan International Speedway stops have been competitive not only from the perspective of the drivers, but because the racetrack is in the backyard of two of America’s most celebrated – and competitive – auto manufacturers: Ford and Chevrolet.

Ford Motor Company leads all makes with 37 wins in the 99 Michigan Cup races. Chevrolet has 26. In the last 20 races, Chevrolet has won nine times, Ford has won six times and Toyota has won five times. Ford driver Clint Bowyer is the defending winner of this week’s Firekeepers Casino 400.

The last Toyota victory came back in 2015 with driver Matt Kenseth. Ford swept wins last year with Bowyer and then his Stewart-Haas Racing teammate Kevin Harvick at the second race. Chevrolet drivers – Kurt Busch and Kyle Larson are the winningest in this weekend’s field with three victories each.

Interesting, no manufacturer has swept the race weekend – winning both the Cup and Xfinity races – since 2014 when Johnson won the Cup race and Paul Menard drove a Chevrolet to victory in the Xfinity Series race.