Front Row Motorsports Announces McDowell and Nemechek as 2020 Drivers

On Thursday, Front Row Motorsports made it official. They will run just two full-time entries in the 2020 NASCAR Cup Series, this news was first broken by three weeks ago. The cars will be driven by Michael McDowell and John Hunter Nemechek.

The No. 34 will be piloted by McDowell, who returns for third full-time season at FRM.

“As an organization, we have made a lot of strides with the help of all our partners of our program,” said McDowell. “I’m ready to build on that momentum with Drew and the rest of our team. We’ve always had steady growth and I think we’re going to continue to see that next season.”

Drew Blickensderfer will also return to the No. 34 team in 2020.

Back in November, reported that sources within Front Row Motorsports confirmed the team was working on a deal with Nemechek to drive for the team in 2020. The report turned out to be true and the No. 38 will have Nemechek behind the wheel.

Nemechek filled in for Matt Tifft over the final three races of the 2019 season and was the top performing FRM car in each of the three races. Nemechek is excited to begin his rookie Cup Series season.

“I’m thrilled for the opportunity to drive for Bob Jenkins and Front Row Motorsports,” said Nemechek. “Having driven the last three races with this team in 2019, I feel like we already have a foundation to start the 2020 season. I’m looking forward to continuing to build FRM.”

Seth Barbour will serve as crew chief for the No. 38 team.

FRM still has a third Charter (previously held by the No. 36 team) which now should be leased or sold to another team before Daytona.