Iowa Speedway sets the stage for the NASCAR Xfinity Series this weekend

With the Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series taking the weekend off, the spotlight has been turned to the NASCAR Xfinity Series at Iowa Speedway this Sunday, June 16, for the 250 presented by Tamron at 5:30 p.m. ET on FS1, MRN and SiriusXM NASCAR Radio.

Sunday’s race will mark the 19th time the Xfinity Series has competed on 7/8-mile track. In the previous 18 Iowa Speedway outings, the series has produced 11 different poles winners and 13 different race winners. Elliott Sadler leads the series in poles at Iowa with four (August 2011, 2012 sweep and July 2018). Ricky Stenhouse Jr. (2011 sweep, May 2012) and Brad Keselowski (2009, August 2013, August 2014) are tied for the series-most wins at Iowa with three each.

Last season, two series championship contenders won at Iowa Speedway. In June, Justin Allgaier took the checkered flag and in July, Christopher Bell took the victory. This season Bell already has three victories (Atlanta, Bristol, Dover), while Allgaier is still winless heading into Sunday.

Iowa Speedway has been good to those who have showed up winless on the season in the past; eight times drivers have grabbed their first win of the season at Iowa – Ricky Stenhouse Jr. (2011), Trevor Bayne (2013), Sam Hornish Jr. (2014), Chris Buescher (2015), Ryan Blaney (2015), Sam Hornish Jr. (2016), William Byron (2017) and Ryan Preece (2017).

Furthermore, Iowa Speedway has been home to three drivers’ first NASCAR Xfinity Series career wins – Ricky Stenhouse Jr.’s grabbed his first Xfinity career win in 2011 and both William Byron and Ryan Preece secured theirs in 2017. Plus, six drivers have grabbed their first NASCAR Xfinity Series career pole at Iowa Speedway – Ricky Stenhouse Jr. (2009), Drew Herring (2013), Ryan Blaney (2014), Christopher Bell (2017), Ryan Preece (2017), Austin Cindric (2018).