After Inspection, Chastain Official Winner, Allmendinger DQ’d

Photo Credit: Getty Images

Post-race technical inspection at Daytona International Speedway following the Circle K Firecracker 250 has been completed and Ross Chastain is the official winner of the race.

There were no issues with Chastain’s No. 16 car.

Unfortunately the story book 1-2-3 finish for Kaulig Racing took a little bit of a hit as AJ Allmendinger has been disqualified from his third-place finish as his No. 10 car did not pass post-race inspection.

According to NASCAR it was an issue with the air flow in the motor that prompted the DQ for the No. 10 car. The engine did not hold a vacuum.

Allmendinger will be credited with a last-place finish and he will also lose his Stage 2 win. Michael Annett, who finished second in Stage 2, will now be the official winner of that Stage and will receive the Playoff point for winning Stage 2.